Golden Pints 2011

So I may have only been blogging a few days, but Batman is a long time admirer of hops, malt, yeast and water (and anything else the brewer throws in there). Here are my highlights of 2011.

Best UK Draught (Cask or Keg) Beer

Magic Rock Highwire. Fantastic on cask, better on keg.

Best UK Bottled or Canned Beer

Marble Special 2011. Big tropical fruity hops, crisp and tart saisony goodness.

Best Overseas Draught Beer

Odell IPA. Modern classic

Best Overseas Bottled or Canned Beer

Unita Detour Double IPA

Best Overall Beer

Odell IPA. It might not be the most brash IPA on the market, but it is superbly well-balanced and extremely quaffable.

Best Pumpclip or Label

For British brewers it has to be Magic Rock, overseas I’ll go for Brooklyn Black Ops.

Best UK Brewery

It has to be Magic Rock again. Every beer in their range is one of the best in its style.

Best Overseas Brewery

Tough choice, but I’m going to go for Stone Brewing.

Pub/Bar of the Year

As I am involved in the industry I have an obvious bias, so I am going to change this to the pub/bar that has impressed me the most. I have only visited twice but Southampton Arms does it for me. Ale, Cider, Meat. ’nuff said.

Supermarket of the Year

I buy very little from the supermarkets, but if I had to choose I’d say Marks and Spencer for their range of own branded beer. I bought beers from brewers I would usually bypass as a result.

Online Retailer of the Year

My Brewery Tap.

Best Beer Blog or Website

Another toughie, but I’m going to go for Ghostdrinker. Any one of about 8 could have won this.

Best Beer Twitterer

Zak Avery. Inspirational beer writing, humorous anecdotes on life.

Best Online Brewery Presence

Brewdog. A good website, a generally entertaining blog, and an army of staff flooding your twitter timeline.

Open Category: Batman’s ‘Beer Crusade’ of the Year Award.

Summer Wine defending against their arch nemesis ‘Kevin’.

Posted on 27/12/2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

